2020 Acura Safety Features and Highest Marks from NHTSA

December 22nd, 2019 by

Safety is a priority with Acura vehicles. You know this because Acura was the first luxury brand to get top safety ratings from the NHTSA across its whole lineup—that is taking safety seriously. Acura vehicles are safer because they are built safer and because they have some great driver assistance features. Learn more about all of these things below.

Vehicles Built Safer

When you take a look at how safe vehicles are, a large part of that comes from how they are constructed in the first place. Acura places an emphasis on protection through designing their vehicles. Their vehicles are built strong and tough to protect you and your family.

Acura vehicles are built with an ACE or Advanced Compatibility Engineering body structure. This structure is designed to protect people because it reduces and disperses the impact of a crash. Each Acura vehicle is designed to absorb and distribute a crash in the best way possible to protect passengers. For example, parts of your vehicle might crumple in a collision, but other parts stay more rigid to protect you.

Driver Assist Features

It is good to know that Acura vehicles were built to be safer in the event of a collision, but hopefully, you don’t have to find out. That is where Acura’s driver assistance features kick in. Acura’s goal is to prevent accidents when possible, so they have these sensors and safety technologies that can help avoid collisions.

One of these driver assistance features is the Collision Mitigation Braking System. This system uses radars and cameras to alert you of obstacles in front of you. This feature gives you a chance to slow down or stop on your own, but if you don’t, it will automatically brake for you. Other driver assistance features found on Acura vehicles include Adaptive Cruise Control, which keeps you a safe distance from other vehicles, and Lane Keeping Assist, which helps you avoid unintentional lane drift. You also have features like Blind Spot Assist, Vehicle Stability Assist, and more.

Safety Ratings for Acura

Finally, let’s take a look at how Acura vehicles have performed in different safety tests. As mentioned above, Acura was the first luxury lineup with all of their vehicles to receive a five-star safety rating.

For 2019, the Acura ILX, TLX, MDX, RDX, and RLX all received a five-star overall safety rating from the NHSTA*. The NHSTA is the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, and they do safety testing on vehicles with a one to five-star system, with five being the highest rating.

How does the NHSTA determine the overall safety rating? Their ratings are determined based on a few different factors. The NHSTA looks into how the vehicles will protect passengers in a crash, the rollover resistance of the vehicles, and the safety technologies found on the vehicles. With five-star ratings, clearly Acura vehicles are doing well in terms of safety.

As you can see, safety was built to be a priority in all Acura vehicles. When you drive an Acura, you can rest assured that you are getting the safety you need for you, your friends, and your family.

*Government star ratings are part of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s (NHTSAs) New Car Assessment Program (www.safercar.gov). Model tested with standard side-impact airbags (SABs). Do not compare 2011 and later models to those from 2010 or earlier.

Posted in News